Note - Due to Covid-19 delivery of your order may get delayed. Sorry for the inconvenience. We will surely ship your order out.


About the Book

The most widely staged dramatist after Shakespeare, Chekhov left a deep mark both on the development of Russian literature and world theatre, with plays that were remarkable not just for their dialogue but their atmosphere and the tensions expressed between the lines.

Collected in this volume are Chekhov's four most celebrated plays - The Seagull, Uncle Vanya, Three Sisters and The Cherry Orchard - in a brand-new translation by Hugh Aplin. In these personal stories of unfulfilled love, failed ambition and existential ennui, set against a background of unsettling social and economical change, the reader can appreciate the groundbreaking qualities of Chekhov's theatrical genius.

About the Author: Anton Chekhov (1860-1904) is one of the giants of modern literature, exerting a strong influence on many present-day novelists and dramatists. As a playwright, he ranks in popularity second only to Shakespeare in the English-speaking world. As a prose writer, he was one of the first to use the stream-of- consciousness technique, and his anti-heroic realism, full of ambiguity and allusion, provides no easy moral conclusions and results in a new kind of narrative approaching real life in a way no writer had achieved before him.
Book Details
ISBN-13: 9781847496683
Publisher: Alma Books
Publisher Imprint: Alma Books
Depth: 26
Language: English
Returnable: Y
Spine Width: 23 mm
Width: 130 mm
ISBN-10: 1847496687
Publisher Date: 28 Aug 2018
Binding: Paperback
Height: 203 mm
No of Pages: 320
Series Title: Evergreens
Weight: 272.4 gr
User Reviews

Be the first to Write a Review on this book Plays