True Blue: Strange Tales from a Tory Nation POD/NR

True Blue: Strange Tales from a Tory Nation

3%
OFF
International Edition
 
About the Book

Whatever happened to middle England? Two of our funniest writers set out on a journey through conservative country - with hilarious results.

The Women's Institute. Polo matches. The Duke of Edinburgh. Nimbys, shooting and game fairs. Pall Mall clubs, the Countryside Alliance and Boris Johnson. Hampshire Police's brass band, the rubber chicken circuit - and of course the Conservative party itself.

Middle England, with all the social rituals, institutions and traditions that hold it together, has lasted for a long time. And Chris Horrie and David Matthews, two left-leaning journalists - Chris is from Manchester and David's parents are from Guyana - are fascinated by it.

So off they go, armed with two ballpoints and a sharp sense of humour, to see what they can see. Sometimes, it's as simple as hanging out at the proms, munching scones with the vicar at a village cricket match, or chatting with Michael Howard. And other times, a bit more guile is needed - so Chris and David baffle Conservative party members by helping out with their campaigns.

With backgrounds as investigative reporters, the authors infiltrate Middle England and capture its denizens at their least guarded. What they find is at times cheering, and sometimes a bit worrying - but it is always very entertaining.

True Blue is Bill Bryson meets Spitting Image - and a must-read for fans of John O'Farrell, Private Eye and Jon Ronson.


About the Author:

Chris Horrie is an author, journalist, and expert on tabloid journalism. He writes regularly for the Guardian and the Observer.
David Matthews spent two years becoming a professional boxer for his book Looking For a Fight. He is a feature writer for the Mail on Sunday and a contributor to the New Statesman.

Book Details
ISBN-13: 9780007293704
Publisher: Fourth Estate
Publisher Imprint: Fourth Estate
Depth: 24
Language: English
Returnable: N
Spine Width: 23 mm
Width: 135 mm
ISBN-10: 0007293704
Publisher Date: 20 Aug 2009
Binding: Paperback
Height: 213 mm
No of Pages: 248
Series Title: English
Weight: 318 gr
User Reviews

Be the first to Write a Review on this book True Blue: Strange Tales from a Tory Nation