Home > General > The Appeal
34%
The Appeal

The Appeal


  • Gray Star
  • Gray Star
  • Gray Star
  • Gray Star
  • Gray Star



International Edition


About the Book

INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER

"[W]itty, original...a delight." --Th​e New York Times

Perfect for fans of Ruth Ware and Lisa Jewell, this international bestseller and "dazzlingly clever" (The Sunday Times, London) murder mystery follows a community rallying around a sick child--but when escalating lies lead to a dead body, everyone is a suspect.

The Fairway Players, a local theatre group, is in the midst of rehearsals when tragedy strikes the family of director Martin Hayward and his wife Helen, the play's star. Their young granddaughter has been diagnosed with a rare form of cancer, and with an experimental treatment costing a tremendous sum, their castmates rally to raise the money to give her a chance at survival.

But not everybody is convinced of the experimental treatment's efficacy--nor of the good intentions of those involved. As tension grows within the community, things come to a shocking head at the explosive dress rehearsal. The next day, a dead body is found, and soon, an arrest is made. In the run-up to the trial, two young lawyers sift through the material--emails, messages, letters--with a growing suspicion that the killer may be hiding in plain sight. The evidence is all there, between the lines, waiting to be uncovered.

A wholly modern and gripping take on the epistolary novel, The Appeal is a "daring...clever, and funny" (The Times, London) debut for fans of Richard Osman and Lucy Foley.
About the Author: Janice Hallett is a former magazine editor, award-winning journalist, and government communications writer. She wrote articles and speeches for, among others, the Cabinet Office, Home Office, and Department for International Development. Her enthusiasm for travel has taken her around the world several times, from Madagascar to the Galapagos, Guatemala to Zimbabwe, Japan, Russia, and South Korea. A playwright and screenwriter, she penned the feminist Shakespearean stage comedy NetherBard and cowrote the feature film Retreat. She lives in London and is the author of The Appeal and The Twyford Code.


Best Sellers



Product Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781982187453
  • Publisher: Atria Books
  • Publisher Imprint: Atria Books
  • Height: 231 mm
  • No of Pages: 432
  • Spine Width: 38 mm
  • Width: 163 mm
  • ISBN-10: 198218745X
  • Publisher Date: 25 Jan 2022
  • Binding: Hardback
  • Language: English
  • Returnable: Y
  • Weight: 592 gr


Similar Products


Write A Review
Write your own book review for The Appeal
  • Gray Star
  • Gray Star
  • Gray Star
  • Gray Star
  • Gray Star


 

 

Top Reviews
Be the first to write a review on this book The Appeal

New Arrivals



Inspired by your browsing history