The Appeal

The Appeal

23%
OFF
Out of Stock
Notify me when this book is in stock
 
About the Book
Perfect for fans of Ruth Ware and Lisa Jewell, this "dazzlingly clever" (The Sunday Times, London) murder mystery follows a community rallying around a sick child--but when escalating lies lead to a dead body, everyone is a suspect.

The Fairway Players, a local theatre group, is in the midst of rehearsals for an Arthur Miller play, when tragedy strikes the family of director Martin Haywood and his wife Helen, the play's star. Their young granddaughter has been diagnosed with a rare form of cancer, and with an experimental treatment costing a tremendous sum, their fellow castmates rally to raise the money to give her a chance at survival.

But not everybody is convinced of the experimental treatment's efficacy--nor of the good intentions of those involved. New actress Sam, a former NGO worker, raises doubts. But are her suspicions justified? Or does she have a history with the doctor involved? As tension grows within the community, things come to a shocking head the night of the dress rehearsal. The next day, a dead body is found, and soon, an arrest is made. In the run-up to the trial, two young lawyers sift through the material--emails, messages, letters--with a growing suspicion that a killer may still be on the loose.

A wholly modern take on the epistolary novel, The Appeal is a "daring, ...clever, and funny" (The Times, London) debut for fans of Richard Osman and Lucy Foley.
About the Author: Janice Hallett is a former magazine editor, award-winning journalist, and government communications writer. She wrote articles and speeches for, among others, the Cabinet Office, Home Office, and Department for International Development. Her enthusiasm for travel has taken her around the world several times, from Madagascar to the Galapagos, Guatemala to Zimbabwe, Japan, Russia, and South Korea. A playwright and screenwriter, she penned the feminist Shakespearean stage comedy NetherBard and cowrote the feature film Retreat. The Appeal is her first novel.

Book Details
ISBN-13: 9781982187453
Publisher: Atria Books
Publisher Imprint: Atria Books
Height: 229 mm
No of Pages: 448
Spine Width: 29 mm
ISBN-10: 198218745X
Publisher Date: 25 Jan 2022
Binding: Hardback
Language: English
Returnable: Y
Width: 152 mm
User Reviews

Be the first to Write a Review on this book The Appeal