Important Update: In Light of the Latest Government Guidelines on COVID, deliveries of Non-Essential products will be delayed.
About the Book
Miriam Colwell's Contentment Cove-her fourth novel set in Maine and her first in more than five decades-is a riveting story of class distinctions in a 1950s Down East coastal village during a time of cultural change. Dot-Fran, Hilary, and Mina are three residents of a Maine coastal village in the 1950s. Dot-Fran, the youngest, is a native; she runs the town's drug store. Hilary, middle-aged, is a worldly artist. The wealthy Mina and her husband retired to the town after being enchanted with its charm during a one-night visit. Their disparate lives become entwined and eventually clash tragically. The story, which features recognizable Maine characters and those from away, takes place over only a matter of days one summer. While Maine-native Colwell infuses Contentment Cove with humor, it is a novel that deals with serious issues that remain relevant today, none more compelling than the erosion of one way of Maine life and the evolution of another.
About the Author: Miriam Colwell was born in Prospect Harbor in 1917 and still lives in the house built by her great-great-great-grandfather in 1817. Colwell also wrote Wind off the Water (1945), Day of the Trumpet (1947), and Contentment Cove (2006). Those novels earned her attention at the time and prompted The Puckerbrush Review to write, Everyone who wants to get acquainted with the whole body of Maine literature in the twentieth century should read Miriam Colwell.
Book Details
ISBN-13: 9781934031049
Publisher: Islandport Press
Publisher Imprint: Islandport Press
Depth: 25
Language: English
Returnable: Y
Spine Width: 20 mm
Width: 140 mm
ISBN-10: 1934031046
Publisher Date: 01 Jan 2007
Binding: Paperback
Height: 213 mm
No of Pages: 212
Series Title: English
Weight: 294 gr
Related Categories
User Reviews

Be the first to Write a Review on this book Contentment Cove