Home > General > A Convent Tale
A Convent Tale

A Convent Tale


  • Gray Star
  • Gray Star
  • Gray Star
  • Gray Star
  • Gray Star



International Edition


About the Book

Power often operates in strange and surprising ways. With A Convent Tale, Renee Baernstein uncovers some of the nuanced methods cloistered women devised to exert their agency. In the tradition of Simon Schama and Steven Ozment, Baernstein uses the compelling story of a single clan, the Sfondrati, to refashion our understanding of the early modern period. Showing the nuns as neither helpless victims nor valiant rebels, but reasonable beings maneuvering as best they could within limits set by class, gender and culture. Baernstein writes against the tendency to depict women as inactive pawns, and shows that even within the convent walls, nuns were empowered by ties with their (often earthly) families and actively involved in the politics of the period. Both a major contribution to scholarship on gender, family and religion in early modern Europe, and a colorful well-told tale of Renaissance intrigue, A Convent Tale is sure to attract a wide range of academic and general readers.


About the Author:

P. Renée Baernstein is Associate Professor of European History at Miami University in Oxford, Ohio. She grew up in St. Louis, Missouri, and holds degrees from Cornell University and Harvard University.


Best Sellers



Product Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780415927178
  • Publisher: Routledge
  • Publisher Imprint: Routledge
  • Depth: 25
  • Language: English
  • Returnable: N
  • Spine Width: 22 mm
  • Weight: 521 gr
  • ISBN-10: 041592717X
  • Publisher Date: 06 Sep 2002
  • Binding: Hardback
  • Height: 218 mm
  • No of Pages: 294
  • Series Title: English
  • Sub Title: A Century of Sisterhood in Spanish Milan
  • Width: 160 mm


Similar Products


Write A Review
Write your own book review for A Convent Tale
  • Gray Star
  • Gray Star
  • Gray Star
  • Gray Star
  • Gray Star


 

 

Top Reviews
Be the first to write a review on this book A Convent Tale

New Arrivals



Inspired by your browsing history