Home > Children & Teens > Children’s & young adult fiction & true stories > Comic strip fiction / graphic novels (children’s/ya) > New Kid
35%
New Kid
New Kid
  • Gray Star
  • Gray Star
  • Gray Star
  • Gray Star
  • Gray Star



Available


Award Winner
Awards Winning
2020 | Newbery Medal
About the Book

Winner of the Newbery Medal, Coretta Scott King Author Award, and Kirkus Prize for Young Readers' Literature!

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft.

Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade.

As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds--and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?

This middle grade graphic novel is an excellent choice for tween readers, including for summer reading.

New Kid is a selection of the Schomburg Center's Black Liberation Reading List.

Plus don't miss Jerry Craft's Class Act!


Best Seller



Product Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780062691194
  • Publisher: HarperCollins
  • Publisher Imprint: HarperCollins
  • Height: 226 mm
  • No of Pages: 256
  • Spine Width: 23 mm
  • Width: 150 mm
  • ISBN-10: 0062691198
  • Publisher Date: 05 Feb 2019
  • Binding: Paperback
  • Language: English
  • Returnable: Y
  • Weight: 534 gr


Similar Products


Write A Review
Write your own book review for New Kid
  • Gray Star
  • Gray Star
  • Gray Star
  • Gray Star
  • Gray Star


 

 

Top Reviews
Be the first to write a review on this book New Kid

New Arrival



Inspired by your browsing history