Home > Dictionaries & Language > Linguistics > Phonetics, phonology > Up Up, Down Down
39%
Up Up, Down Down
Up Up, Down Down
  • Gray Star
  • Gray Star
  • Gray Star
  • Gray Star
  • Gray Star



Out of Stock


Notify me when this book is in stock
About the Book

For fans of John Jeremiah Sullivan and Wells Tower, a "glittering," (Leslie Jamison), "always smart, often hilarious, and ultimately transcendent" (Anthony Doerr) linked essay collection from the managing editor of Tin House that brilliantly explores the nature of identity.

Daring and wise, hilarious and tender, Cheston Knapp's exhilarating collection of seven linked essays, Up Up, Down Down, tackles the Big Questions through seemingly unlikely avenues. In his dexterous hands, an examination of a local professional wrestling promotion becomes a meditation on pain and his relationship with his father. A profile of UFO enthusiasts ends up probing his history in the church and, more broadly, the nature and limits of faith itself. Attending an adult skateboarding camp launches him into a virtuosic analysis of nostalgia. And the shocking murder of a neighbor expands into an interrogation of our culture's prevailing ideas about community and the way we tell the stories of our lives. Even more remarkable, perhaps, is the way he manages to find humanity in a damp basement full of frat boys.

Taken together, the essays in Up Up, Down Down amount to a chronicle of Knapp's coming-of-age, a young man's journey into adulthood, late-onset as it might appear. He presents us with formative experiences from his childhood to marriage that echo throughout the collection, and ultimately tilts at what may be the Biggest Q of them all: what are the hazards of becoming who you are?

With "an ordnance of wit" (Wells Tower) and "a prose style that feels both extravagant and exact, and a big, booming heart" (Maggie Nelson), Up Up, Down Down signals the arrival of a truly one-of-a-kind voice.


Best Seller



Product Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781501161025
  • Publisher: Scribner Book Company
  • Publisher Imprint: Scribner Book Company
  • Height: 213 mm
  • No of Pages: 320
  • Spine Width: 30 mm
  • Width: 142 mm
  • ISBN-10: 1501161024
  • Publisher Date: 06 Feb 2018
  • Binding: Hardback
  • Language: English
  • Returnable: Y
  • Weight: 408 gr


Similar Products


Write A Review
Write your own book review for Up Up, Down Down
  • Gray Star
  • Gray Star
  • Gray Star
  • Gray Star
  • Gray Star


 

 

Top Reviews
Be the first to write a review on this book Up Up, Down Down

New Arrival



Inspired by your browsing history